Ohio State Men's Volleyball Wins 19th Conference Tournament Title

By George Eisner on April 20, 2024 at 11:50 pm
The Ohio State men's volleyball team celebrates its 19th conference title.

The Ohio State men's volleyball team has won back-to-back conference tournament championships for the 10th time after earning another Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association title on Saturday night with a 3-1 win over Lindenwood.

The No. 3 seed Buckeyes dropped the first game to the No. 4 Lions by a score of 20-25 before storming back to win the next three by a combined score of 75-51. Redshirt senior Michael Wright won Tournament MVP honors for the second year in a row after recording a match-high 45 assists.

Senior Jacob Pasteur and sophomore Shane Wetzel also earned All-MIVA Tournament Team honors on their way to posting 18 and 13 kills in the final for OSU, respectively. Pasteur additionally scored an ace to reach 160 for his career, which currently sits at second all-time in program history.

Ohio State has now won its last nine trips to the MIVA Tournament for a total of 19 conference tournament titles. The Buckeyes (22-8 this season) will advance to the NCAA Tournament for the 23rd time in school history. They will learn of their quarterfinal opponent during Sunday’s selection show, which starts at 4 p.m. on NCAA.com, with tournament play scheduled to begin Tuesday, April 30.

View 17 Comments