Stieber, Shields Named Ohio State Athletes of the Year

By 11W Staff on June 17, 2014 at 10:51 am

Junior Logan Stieber, the first Ohio State wrestler to win three NCAA championships, and sophomore Catherine Shields, the Big Ten's rower of the year, were named Ohio State Athletes of the Year by the university Tuesday.

Stieber is fresh off a 30–1 season, improving his overall record to 90–3 (.968), which is tops in program history. Three months ago, he won his third national title in impressive fashion, 10–1. He is the second Ohio State wrestler to win the school's Male Athlete of the Year award, joining current Buckeye assistant wrestling coach J Jaggers, who capture the honor in 2009.

Ohio State's 1V8

Shields is a 2014 Pocock First Team All-American and was named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) First Team All-Central Region. She rowed the First Varsity Eight on Ohio State's first NCAA 1V8 title and was vital to the team's second-consecutive Big Ten and NCAA championships. Shields is the second rower in two years to win the Ohio State Female Athlete of the Year award, joining teammate Claire-Louise Bode, who captured the award in 2013.

Ohio State Athletes of the Year:

Year Male Sport Female Sport
1982 Art Schichter Football    
1983 Chris Perry Golf Cathy Kratzert Golf
1984 John Frank Football Sarah Josephson Synchronized Swimming
1985 Robert Playter Gymnastics Yvette Angel Basketball
1986 Mike Lanese Football Tracey Hall Basketball
1987 Butch Reynolds Track & Field Karen LaFace Diving
1988 Chris Spielman Football Bridgette Tate Track & Field
1989 Joe Greene Track & Field Nikita Lowry Basketball
1990 Mike Rancanelli Gymnastics Susan Gottlieb Swimming
1991 Jim Jackson Basketball Holly O'Leary Volleyball
1992 Jim Jackson Basketball Leisa Wissler Volleyball
1993 Chris Nelloms Track & Field Audrey Burcy Basketball
1994 Chris Sanders Track & Field Katie Smith Basketball
1995 Blaine Wilson Gymnastics Laura Davis1 Volleyball
1996 Eddie George2 Football Katie Smith Basketball
1997 Blaine Wilson2 Gymnastics Amy Langhals Golf
1998 Hugo Boisvert Hockey Vanessa Wouters Volleyball
1999 Sconnie Penn Basketball Dominque Calloway Track & Field
2000 Jamie Natalie Gymnastics Donica Merriman Track & Field
2001 Jamie Natalie Gymnastics Donica Merriman Track & Field
2002 Raj Bhavsar Gymnastics Anna Smith Softball
2003 Craig Krenzel Football Stacey Gordon Volleyball
2004 Dan Taylor Track & Field Allison Hanna Golf
2005 Mike Nugent Football Stacey Gordon Volleyball
2006 A.J. Hawk Football Jessica Davenport Basketball
2007 Troy Smith Football Jessica Davenport1 Basketball
2008 Andras Horani Fencing Teresa Meyer Pistol
2009 J Jaggers Wrestling Jantel Lavender Basketball
2010 Evan Turner Basketball Sam Marder Softball
2011 Steven Kehoe Volleyball Jantel Lavender Basketball
2012 Zain Shaito Fencing Christina Manning1 Track & Field
2013 Blaz Rola Tennis Claire-Louise Bode Rowing
2014 Logan Stieber Wrestling Catherine Shields Rowing

1 Recipient of Big Ten Award as conference's female athlete of the year
2 Recipient of the Big Ten Jesse Owens Award as the conference's male athlete of the year

View 7 Comments