Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

Tailgating the Notre Dame Game

+5 HS
jtlbuckeye1's picture
August 1, 2022 at 9:59am
38 Comments

Hi everyone,

I am bringing my wife, our 6 month old daughter, and my in-laws out to Columbus from Philadelphia for the Notre Dame game in a few weeks. I am a 2012 graduate of Ohio State, and my father-in-law is an Irish Catholic from Queens who has always been a fan of Notre Dame. I promised him I'd bring him out to the game when the schedule was released a few years back, and was fortunate enough to get tickets for the two of us (day of game I am going to try and buy 2 more for my wife and mother-in-law assuming prices are reasonable, if not they'll watch from the hotel).

In my four years in Columbus, not once did I ever tailgate for a game. We always did house parties / bar hopping, etc. The few games I've had a chance to go to since graduating, we always liked to stick around high street to take in the pre-game energy. So needless to say, my knowledge of the tailgating experience is very limited (with the exception of knowing the coin required to get one of the awesome spots inside the shoe parking lot). With my 6 month old daughter coming with us, I don't know that I want to be spending significant time in Out-R-Inn or Little Bar (although I do still love you guys, just probably isn't the best atmosphere for the little one).