Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

I’m Sad, So I Wrote About It

+43 HS
Goalscorer9's picture
August 20, 2020 at 7:29pm
37 Comments

I know it’s just a game.

But if you grew up in Ohio, you know it’s more than that, too.

It’s who we are. 

We’re Buckeyes.

My favorite day of the year, even as a kid, was never Christmas or the 4th of July. It was Ohio State Michigan. 

Some of my most vivid memories from my childhood are Ohio State games. I’m convinced I once received a pretty substantial scholarship because I wore a scarlet and gray tie to the interview and talked to the panel about Joe Germaine’s drive in the ‘97 Rose Bowl. (A game I watched when I was eight)

I’ve skipped weddings.

I was an Ohio State student for 10 years as I worked toward my degrees. It was my home for 7 of them, and I was an employee for 6.

When my dad and I talk, we talk about Ohio State. Not exclusively, of course, but enough that the conversations are noticeably longer in Autumn.

As someone who’s scared as hell to become a father in a few months, one thing that brings me genuine excitement is that I’ll be teaching my little guy all of our traditions, and what it means to be a Buckeye.

In a time when pro stadiums are torn down and replaced every few decades, The Shoe has stood tall since 1922. It will still be hosting football games long after I’m gone. Ohio State is bigger than us. It’s generational. Your dad taught you what his dad taught him, and you pass it on to your son, who will one day pass it on to his.  

It is constant.

Buckeye heroes become legends. I was born in ‘89, but can tell you all about Archie Griffin. Who was President in 1974 and 1975? I honestly have no idea.