Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Old Memories Creating New Ones

+13 HS
tajikey's picture
October 25, 2019 at 4:36pm
8 Comments

First of all, my apologies if this post goes long, and thank you to those who make it all the way through.

I'm currently a middle school ELA teacher in a small community known as Woodlake, CA, which is tucked into the Western foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, a stone's throw from the Sequoia National Park. Woodlake is primarily populated by migrant farm workers, and is for all intents and purposes, a very poor town. I grew up 15 minutes away in Exeter, a town that around these parts is known as "The Rival." From the first day I stepped foot into my classroom over 4 years ago, the blood in my veins changed from blue and gold to orange and black. Conveniently and shamelessly, we are known as the Bengals, our Bengal graphic "borrowed" from the Cincinnati football Bengals.

Each year before Christmas break I have my students write a letter to someone famous that they admire, and have them include an index card and self-addressed stamped envelope, in hopes the person to whom they write will respond. This idea came to me because of a very fond memory I have as a child of my father, who was the sports booster president for both the Exeter middle school and high school in town, curating sports cards from his personal collection, and mailing them around the country in hopes of getting them signed, so that he could use them as silent auction items. The level of excitement I'd feel when he'd check his box at the school, and come home with countless returns from players like Cal Ripken Jr., Kirby Puckett, Frank Thomas, and the likes. His undertaking inspired me, as a third grader, to write my favorite player, Larry Wayne Jones, Jr., not because he was on the Braves, but because his name was Chipper.