Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Computer Problem, Looking for Ideas

+2 HS
BAJ's picture
January 19, 2018 at 11:15am
58 Comments

Hello everyone,

First off let me say that I have worked in the computer tech field for well over a decade. I also build computers for a living as a side job, this however has me stumped and I am looking for some ideas.

First off here is a list of the computer parts:

MSI Geforce GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5, AMD FX 8350 Vishera CPU with wraith cooler, Corsair AX860 80 Plus Platinum ATX Power Supply, Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming AM3+ Motherboard, 32 GB EVGA superclocked DDR3 dual channel RAM, 2 1TB hard drives, a 5 TB hard drive, and a 256 GB SSD only used for the OS which is windows 10.

So here is the problem, on Tuesday I ran a refresh on the system, everything seemed to be fine, around 22:30 the video signal went out but the computer was still on and running, not even showing the bios page.

Initially I switched the cable to a different port on the display using HDMI 1, 3, and 4, I also swapped the hdmi cable with a known working hdmi cable but nothing. I than swapped the GPU from PCI-e 1 to PCI-e 2 but still no joy. I than swapped in another known working video card, into both slots but still nothing. I than swapped out the ram using only 1 at a time but still nothing (mind you there are no beeps on the motherboard and the code was coming up AA which is normal meaning its booting to the OS), to be fair I have not breadboarded it as I doubt it was the case at this point.

After some discussion at work we concluded it could be the Motherboard causing the issue (since they dont make AM3 boards anymore I decided to go ahead and upgrade, and knowing how sensitive the CPU is). So after doing some research on everything that would be compatible I stopped at microcenter and picked up AMD Ryzen 5 1500X, MSI B350 Tomahawk Motherboard and crucial ballistix 16 GB DDR4 ram.