Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

I had an interesting morning.

0 HS
D-Day0043's picture
August 11, 2015 at 8:51pm
80 Comments

As some of you may know, I am a contractor. I went to do a roof repair job on a lady's garage this morning that had a tree fall on it.

The woman came out and opened the garage up and from inside I could see a snake skin hanging up over the wall into the soffit. I pulled it out, and it was about a 5' long rat snake skin. They are not poisonous, but they can get big and be a little fiesty. I have had some bad experiences with them previously doing exterior work, particularly working on soffits. They tend to squirm their way up in them to get to birds nests. I have literally had them snap at my face while up on a ladder and had to jump.

I digress. I walked out of the garage and started pulling tools out of my work trailer, and the next thing I know the customer begins to scream. 

She said, there is your snake! So I walk back into the garage to see. Halfway sticking out from under the door sill, and curled up on a concrete step was a snake. Upon further inspection, I realized that this was not a rat snake. It had a pointy head and totally different markings. I said to her, um...ma'am...that is not a rat snake. That is a copperhead, and you just stepped right over top of it into your garage and didn't even know. Granted, this is the least poisonous of all pit vipers, it's still a fucking poisonous snake! 

She was wearing flip-flops, and could have been bitten without even knowing. No, they probably won't kill you, but it would have certainly ruined her day.