Joe Burrow Wins 2019 Unitas Golden Arm Award, Likely His First of Many Postseason Awards

By Kevin Harrish on December 4, 2019 at 3:31 pm
Joe burrow named unitas golden arm winner
Stephen Lew-USA TODAY Sports

Joe Burrow collected the first of what will likely be many postseason awards on Wednesday afternoon as he was named the winner of the 2019 Unitas Golden Arm Award, given to the nation's top senior quarterback.

The Ohio State transfer has been annihilating both SEC and LSU records this season. He's the first player in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 TDs in the same season, he broke the SEC single-season passing yards record in 2019 with 4,614, and he tied the SEC single-season record with 44 passing touchdowns.

This season, Burrow has thrown for 300 or more yards a school-record 10 times and will leave LSU as the school's single-season leader in passing yardage, passing touchdowns, total offense, completions, and completion percentage.

Burrow is the overwhelming favorite to win the 2019 Heisman Trophy as well and is a finalist and is the likely frontrunner for every other major player-of-the-year award for which he is eligible.

View 19 Comments