Stiff Arm Accomplished

By Jason Priestas on December 9, 2006 at 10:19 pm

Troy Smith

In one of the more anticlimactic outcomes in the trophy's history, Troy Smith picked up the 2006 Heisman Trophy this evening in New York. Smith became the 7th Buckeye winner and adds another chapter to a career that will be remembered along the lines of other Ohio State greats.

Troy received 801 first place votes and 1662 points more than runner-up Darren McFadden of Arkansas. The number of first place votes and victory margin were both the 2nd highest in the history of the award.

Note: For those that haven't downloaded the game via iTunes or recorded it by another means, ESPN Classic will broadcast the 2006 Ohio State - Michigan game at 9AM EST tomorrow morning in a tribute to Troy Smith.