Marvin Harrison Jr. Among 10 Semifinalists For Biletnikoff Award

By Chase Brown on November 20, 2023 at 11:41 am
Marvin Harrison Jr.

In case there was doubt, Marvin Harrison Jr. is one of the 10 best pass-catchers in college football.

On Monday, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation named Harrison one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, an honor presented to college football's most outstanding Football Bowl Subdivision receiver, regardless of position (wide receiver, running back, slot back and tight end).

Harrison accompanied one tight end, Brock Bowers (Georgia), and eight receivers on the list: Luther Burden III (Missouri), Keon Coleman (Florida State), Troy Franklin (Oregon), Xavier Legette (South Carolina), Malik Nabers (LSU), Rome Odunze (Washington), Brian Thomas Jr. (LSU) and Malik Washington (Virginia).

This season, Harrison has 62 receptions for 1,093 yards and 14 total touchdowns –numbers that have placed him in the Heisman Trophy conversation with quarterbacks Michael Penix Jr. (Washington), Bo Nix (Oregon) and Jayden Daniels (LSU).

In 25 starts at Ohio State, Harrison has established himself as one of the best wide receivers, if not the best wide receiver, in school history. With his three catches, 30 yards and one touchdown vs. Minnesota on Saturday, the 6-foot-4, 205-pound pass-catcher has collected 150 receptions for 2,495 yards and 30 touchdowns as a Buckeye.

Harrison will look to become only the second player in Ohio State history to win the Biletnikoff – named after former Florida State and Oakland Raiders receiver Fred Biletnikoff –as Terry Glenn is the lone Buckeye to win the award after recording 64 receptions for 1,411 yards and 17 touchdowns in 1995. Harrison was a finalist in 2022 but finished as a runner-up to Jalin Hyatt (Tennesee).

This month, the TQC Foundation opened the 2023 FanVote. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The fan-picked winner will receive one official vote to determine the award's finalists (three receivers) and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks (Oregon State).

The TQC Foundation will announce the Biletnikoff Award's three finalists on Nov. 28. The following week, the award's winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8. ESPN will broadcast the award show from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. ET.

View 46 Comments