The Basketball Tournament to Be Held in Columbus from July 4-14

By Dan Hope on June 11, 2020 at 10:21 am
Jon Diebler

Carmen's Crew will get the chance to defend its title in its home city.

The Basketball Tournament announced Thursday that this year's edition of TBT, which will feature 24 teams and will all be played in one venue due to COVID-19, will be held at Columbus' Nationwide Arena from July 4-14.

“Being the first basketball event to play in the U.S. since March is a monumental task that is only possible with great partners,” TBT founder and CEO Jon Mugar said in a news release. “We can’t thank the State of Ohio, Columbus Sports Commission, The Ohio State University and Nationwide Arena enough for their support, not to mention our longstanding partners ESPN, Puma and Zelle. Everyone is unified in wanting to see basketball on TV again, and our players can’t wait to compete.”

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine said in a statement that “hosting TBT in Columbus is another step forward in our state’s efforts to responsibly restart Ohio.”

“We’re looking forward to having live sports back in a safe way we all can enjoy,”

Fans will not be permitted to attend the tournament. All participants in this year's TBT will be tested for COVID-19 and quarantined for the duration of the tournament, and any positive tests will result in the removal of that participant's team from the tournament in order to provide a safe environment for other participants.

TBT has not yet confirmed which 24 teams will be playing in the event, but it's expected to include two teams full of Ohio State alumni: defending champion Carmen's Crew, whose roster includes William Buford, Aaron Craft, Jon Diebler, David Lighty, Evan Ravenel, Dallas Lauderdale and Lenzelle Smith Jr. (plus GM Evan Turner and coach Jared Sullinger), and Big X, whose roster includes Andrew Dakich, C.J. Jackson, Andre Wesson, Kaleb Wesson and Keyshawn Woods.

Great Lakes Elite, a first-time TBT team that was founded by former Ohio State walk-on Jake Lorbach and also included a pair of former Buckeyes on its roster in Marc Loving and Kam Williams, was not selected to play in this year's event.

All 23 games of the $1 million, winner-take-all TBT will be televised on the ESPN family of networks.

View 17 Comments