Ohio Machine Captures 2017 Major League Lacrosse Championship, Topping Denver Outlaws, 17-12

By 11W Staff on August 20, 2017 at 2:03 pm
MVP Peter Baum

The Ohio Machine are your 2017 Major League Lacrosse champions.

The Columbus-based Machine avenged a heartbreaking loss in last year's championship game, topping the Denver Outlaws, 17-12, at the Ford Center in Frisco, Texas Saturday.

Machine captain Marcus Holman scored three goals in the last 10 minutes of the game to carry his squad to the title, the Machine's first championship in six seasons as a professional lacrosse outfit.

Dominique Alexander, and Tyler Pfister, two Ohio State lacrosse alums, collected rings with the Machine.

The championship is the first professional title for a Columbus-based club since the Crew won the MLS Cup in 2008.

View 22 Comments