Roby, Shazier on Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

By Kyle Rowland on May 17, 2013 at 9:43 am
Roby is primed for a season to remember.

The silly season of football award watch lists is upon us. On Thursday, the Lott IMPACT Trophy released its initial watch list complete with 42 names. Two are rather familiar to Buckeye fans: juniors Bradley Roby and Ryan Shazier

Roby will anchor an Ohio State secondary that is long on experience, while Shazier will attempt to shore up a green linebacker corps.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is named in honor of former defensive back Ronnie Lott and is presented annually to the defensive IMPACT player of the year. IMPACT is an acronym for integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community, and tenacity. The award gives equal recognition for the personal character of the winning player as well as their athletic excellence. The winner is announced following the regular season.

Former Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis won the award in 2008.

View 6 Comments