#5 Ohio State Tennis Beats That Team Up North in Ann Arbor; Wins 8th Straight Big Ten Title

By Vico on April 21, 2013 at 6:40 pm

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The fifth-ranked Ohio State men’s tennis team  won its eighth-consecutive Big Ten Conference regular-season title Sunday when it beat No. 26 Michigan, 4-0, in Ann Arbor. The championship marks the Buckeyes’ 11th overall as they were co-champions in 1915 and winners in 1931 and 1943 as well.

Ohio State finishes the regular season atop the Big Ten standings with an 11-0 conference record and will play host to the Big Ten tournament starting Thursday at the Varsity Tennis Courts. Earning the No. 1 seed, the Buckeyes will have a first-round bye and will face the winner between the Nos. 8 and 9 seeds at 9 a.m. Friday. Ohio State will host the event for the first time since 2002. In all, the Scarlet and Gray have won the conference tournament eight times – 1991, 2001, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

For more information on the 2013 Big Ten Tournament, please click HERE.

Men's tennis has a league dynasty going right now. We're just waiting for that elusive national title to follow.

View 7 Comments