Buckeyes Earn Two Seed in East Region

By 11W Staff on March 11, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Ohio State is headed to the East region as the two seed for the 2012 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament. Syracuse, the Big East regular season champion, was named the region's top seed.

The Buckeyes will take on #15 Loyola (MD) Thursday in Pittsburgh. Should they win, they'll advance to face the winner of #7 Gonzaga and #10 West Virginia on Saturday.

On the other side of Ohio State's half regional is #3 Florida State (the ACC Tournament champion) playing #14 St. Bonaventure and #6 Cincinnati facing #11 Texas. Both of those games will be played Friday in Nashville, with the winners tangling Sunday.

The Big Ten landed six teams, three of them four seeds, but sadly one of those was not Northwestern.

Michigan State earned the top seed -- the fourth of Tom Izzo's career -- in the West region and will play opening round games in Columbus.

Fourth-seeded Michigan will play #13 Ohio -- yes, Brady Hoke and John Beilein are incredibly confused right now -- on Friday in Nashville. Wisconsin will take on #13 Montana in the East Region and Indiana will face #13 New Mexico State in the South Region (with top overall seed Kentucky). Purdue was awarded a 10 seed in the Midwest Region and will play #7 Saint Mary's.

View 41 Comments