Ohio State Basketball Forum

Ohio State Basketball Forum

Ohio State men's and women's basketball discussion.

Greg Oden “I know I’m one of the biggest busts in NBA history"

AngryWoody's picture
May 9, 2014 at 7:58pm
10 Comments

“Are you kidding? I was a professional rehab/workout guy for four years. I wasn’t even a basketball player — just a guy who got paid to exercise. I spent four years trying to get back on an NBA court. Now that I’ve done that, it’s not fair to myself to complain about minutes. I knew coming into this that I wasn’t going to be the player I once was." - Greg Oden

Greg Oden gets painfully honest in an interview with former teammate, Mark Titus. It's called "Teaching Greg Oden How to Be a Bench Warmer". Titus tries to put humor in the story, but I'm warning you it's really sad to read at certain points.

rbesr's picture

I read it the other day. Sad, but Oden seems to have come to terms with his plight. The article shows me the quality of the man. I, for one, am proud to say he is a Buckeye! 

+4 HS
Colerain 2004 G.O.A.T.'s picture

He has more guts and self worth then 99% of the pansies in that league.

I speak the truth but I guess that's a foreign language to yall.~~Lil Wayne

+4 HS
KBonay's picture

Until his career is over I refuse to acknowledge that comment. 

+4 HS
OSUStu's picture

Oden is showing his emotional maturity. Much respect to him for dealing so well with a dream that will not fully be realized. There is happiness to be found in many other things.

If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.  ~ Bruce Lee

+3 HS
TheVictoryBell45's picture