Hyde, Miller, Shazier Lead Buckeye Contingent Named First-Team All-Big Ten

By Kyle Rowland on December 2, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Historic offensive numbers for the 2013 Ohio State Buckeyes led to high honors on the All-Big Ten team announced Monday. Braxton Miller was named the conference’s quarterback of the year and backfield partner Carlos Hyde earned running back of the year honors.

Miller is the Griese-Brees Award winner for the second consecutive season while also earning first-team All-Big Ten honors from the coaches and media. Hyde joins Miller on both first teams, along with collecting the Ameche-Dayne Award.

Part of their blockade – Jack Mewhort, Corey Linsley and Andrew Norwell – was also first-team selections. Mewhort and Norwell made the media’s list, while Linsley appears on the coaches and media first team.

On defense, linebacker Ryan Shazier and Bradley Roby were tabbed as first-teamers by both the coaches and the media, with defensive lineman Noah Spence being selected first-team All-Big Ten by the media.

In all, eight Buckeyes were named first-team All-Big Ten. 

Miller has completed 65.7 percent of his passes for 1,759 yards with 21 touchdowns and five interceptions. On the ground, he’s rushed for 891 yards and eight touchdowns. Miller needs 166 total yards to reach 8,000 yards for his career and just 44 passing yards to surpass 5,000 passing yards for his career.

Hyde, Urban Meyer’s first 1,000-yard running back, leads the Big Ten in rushing with 156 yards per game. He’s amassed 1,290 rushing yards and 14 touchdowns in just nine games. Hyde is coming off a 226-yard performance against Michigan, the most yards ever by an Ohio State player in the Michigan game. He’s hit the 225-yard mark twice this season. 

Pos Player Coaches Media
QB BRAXTON MILLER First Team First Team
RB CARLOS HYDE First Team First Team
C COREY LINSLEY First Team First Team
T JACK MEWHORT Second Team First Team
G ANDREW NORWELL Second Team First Team
DE NOAH SPENCE Second Team First Team
DT MICHAEL BENNETT Second Team Second Team
LB RYAN SHAZIER First Team First Team
CB BRADLEY ROBY First Team First Team

Miller and Hyde’s production has some discussing dark horse Heisman Trophy consideration. Each player missed three games in September, putting a damper on their candidacies. In the past three games, the duo has rushed for 1,070 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Some friends they could buy a steak for are Mewhort, Linsley and Norwell.  Mewhort, the Buckeyes’ left tackle, doubles as the team leader. He’s kept Miller upright in the pocket and opened up running lanes for Miller and Hyde. Meyer appreciates what Mewhort does on the field, but you get the impression the guidance and steady hand Mewhort displays is just an important.

“He’s got self-discipline, self-respect and work ethic,” Meyer said. “He’s a guy that’s tough as nails – everything you’d want in a leader.”

Ohio State's offensive line has been the catalyst for one of the top rushing attacks in the country. The Buckeyes rank first in the Big Ten and second nationally with 321 yards per game. They are averaging almost 50 points per game and 530 yards of offense each Saturday. Second-ranked Ohio State plays No. 10 Michigan State needing a victory to clinch a berth in the national championship game.

Shazier has a Big Ten-leading 122 total tackles, 21 tackles for loss (six sacks) and four forced fumbles. Roby is third on the team with 64 tackles. He also has three interceptions, including a pick-six, 16 passes defended, 13 pass breakups and two blocked kicks. Spence has recorded 13.5 tackles for loss, eight sacks (second in the conference), a forced fumble and fumble recovery.

Wide receiver Philly Brown, Mewhort, Norwell and Spence were second-team selections by the coaches. Defensive lineman Michael Bennett was a second-team selection by the coaches and media.

C.J. Barnett, Drew Basil, Joey Bosa, Doran Grant, Marcus Hall, Jeff Heuerman, Cameron Johnston and Devin Smith were all honorable mention selections. Ohio State's sportsmanship honoree is Kenny Guiton. 

View 43 Comments