Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Bourbon's Back

+3 HS
btalbert25's picture
July 20, 2016 at 12:22am
6 Comments

Alright friends, I had this really good idea that I was going to do a bourbon review each day leading up to the first day of the season.  It was going to be a 68 day project.  Well, I dropped the ball.  I became VERY busy at work ahead of a vacation and I was out of town for about 8 days.  Now I'm back, and I'm going to do my very best to make this a daily occurance once again.  If I can't succeed I'll at least do a couple per week.  Also, I'm reaching into my collection here for the reviews, if anyone has a whiskey they'd like to review/suggest, I'd be happy to make a post about it as well.  If I don't have it, I've probably tried it, or can consult with a buddy to have an impromptu tasting! 

I've been enjoying bourbon for about 7 years now and have been buying for probably about 5, and admittedly, until recently, I knew absolutely nothing about Michter's.  Never tried any of there stuff before.  I was offered a bottle of Michter's toasted barrel sometime last fall so I jumped on it.  This will be the bottle we talk about today.  This is what Michter's has to say about this bottle.  

This bottle is 91.4 proof.  What makes it special is, basically they take the normal Michter's bourbon that was aged in a traditional bourbon barrel, and age it for 26 days extra in second barrel that has been toasted.  Basically, instead of being exposed to really high heat for a very short time, like most new American charred oak barrels, this is exposed to low heat for a very long period of time.  Make sense???  You really wouldn't think 26 days changes things that much, but you would absolutely be wrong.  I sure was!