Wrestling: Home Schedule Announced for 2014-15 Season

Curt Heinrichs's picture
May 28, 2014 at 4:30 pm

By Curt Heinrichs

Earlier this month, the 2014-15 home schedule was released for the Buckeye wrestling team, and the schedule is going to be an absolute treat for Buckeye fans as the top teams in the Big Ten all make a trip to Columbus at some point during the season.

St. John Arena will play host to marquee opponents Penn State, Iowa, and Minnesota at some point during the season.

 In addition to hosting matches on Ohio State’s campus, the Buckeyes are once again continuing the recent tradition of hosting a home dual match near the home high school of an upperclassman. This season, Logan Stieber will be honored with the match against Indiana taking place at Norwalk High School, which is near Stieber’s alma mater of Monroeville High School. In addition to an outstanding home schedule, the Buckeyes will also host the 2015 Big Ten Tournament in March.

The announced schedule is as follows:

November 13                    Kent State

December 14                     Missouri

January 4                             Iowa

January 11                           Penn State

January 23 **                    Indiana

Date TBA                             Purdue

February 8                          Minnesota

March 7-8                            Big Ten Championships


Dates in bold are Big Ten matches

** indicates the match will be held at Norwalk High School

Ticket information will be made available on OhioStateBuckeyes.com for single match tickets, as well as tickets for the Big Ten Tournament. 

At a glance, the Penn State, Iowa, and Minnesota matches are likely to be the toughest for the Buckeyes. 

Penn State has won four consecutive NCAA titles and are poised to make another run at a fifth. Though the Nittany Lions lost two and three time NCAA champions David Taylor and Ed Ruth, they return NCAA finalist (from 2013) Matt Brown, Morgan McIntosh, and two-time runner-up Nico Megaludis. Penn State defeated the Buckeyes last year by the score of 31-6. 

Iowa loses a pair of former NCAA champions in Tony Ramos and Derek St. John, but again are loaded for bear. Mike Evans and his mustache will lead an experienced group of Hawkeyes, who last defeated the Buckeyes in 2012 by the score of 22-9. 

Minnesota, who visits Columbus to close out the dual season, claimed the Big Ten regular season title last season and were crowned NWCA National Duals champs. Led by NCAA runner-up Dylan Ness, the Gophers return to Columbus after defeating the Buckeyes 25-10 in the NWCA National Duals semifinals. 

Be sure to check Eleven Warriors for more on the wrestling schedule as information becomes available. 


View 8 Comments