Ohio State Names 2012 Captains

By Kyle Rowland on August 19, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Ohio State’s senior captains were selected by the team Sunday night and the list includes five seniors. John Simon, Zach Boren, Etienne Sabino, Garrett Goebel and Jordan Hall were each selected by their peers to lead the Scarlet and Gray.

John Simon: Two-time captain.

“Announcing who are team captains is one of the great honors I get to do as head coach,” head coach Urban Meyer said. “We had a number of guys get votes. This is a really good group of seniors who I am very proud to have leading this team.”
The quintet has a combined 185 games of experience between them, including 74 starts. Simon becomes just the seventh two-time captain in the program’s storied history and first since James Laurinaitis in 2007 and 2008.

“Being named captain means a lot,” Simon said. “I appreciate the votes of the players. This is one of the biggest honors a player can receive and I’ll be proud to lead this team along with four other great guys. We’ll have a really good season if we all lead well.”

Quotes from the rest of the group:

Boren: “It is a dream come true and a huge honor to be named a captain at The Ohio State University. I am appreciative and thankful, and I look forward to being a leader on this team this season.”

Goebel: “I’m excited. It is an honor that your teammates think that highly of you to name you a captain. I’m going to put everything I have into this responsibility.”

Hall: “This is a dream come true. I was hoping to be named a captain but I was also a little surprised when it happened. I can’t thank my teammates enough for selecting me for this honor.”

Sabino: “I’m really excited. This is such an honor…to get voted by your teammates to be their captain. I am just really honored to be named a captain.”

View 14 Comments