I had an interesting event involving this rule....I was playing in my clubs version of the ryder cup in which we play a neighboring club and rotate venues each year.It was a two man best ball format. I had hit my approach close (4 or 5 feet) After hitting, i went to help my partner find his ball in the gooch. Meanwhile, the other team's players also hit their approaches.
After finding my partner's ball, we proceeded to the green. I marked my ball, the other players played out and I proceeded to make my putt. (blind squirrel) I was then informed by my opponents that one of their balls had hit mine knocking it closer to the hole. Because I had been looking for my partner's ball I didn't see it happen. My opponents allowed me to play without informing me of the incident. After threatening to throw them both in a pond, cursing, and a ruling, I was forced to forfeit the hole making the match all square after 16.
I managed to birdie the par 5 18th to win. Walked off without a handshake. Looking back, I should have behaved better than that but that was the maddest I've ever been on a golf course.