Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHUCK LEAVELL (ALLMAN BROTHERS/SEA LEVEL/ROLLING STONES) – APRIL 28, 1952 – TIMH

+10 HS
Whoa Nellie's picture
April 28, 2017 at 2:20am
38 Comments

Well, we’re back for another deep dive into the life of a great musician; one who lets his work speak for itself, disinterested in self-promotion and faux celebrity. Most fans of rock, blues, fusion or jazz have heard Chuck’s perfectly played tastiness, they just didn’t know the name of the guy at the keyboard. And, that’s probably just fine with Mr. Leavell. There's a Zelig-esque feeling to the photos below, but Chuck Leavell is a real, live rock and roll animal who many feel should have a place in the HOF.

Chuck Leavell is a southern boy, born April 28, 1952, in Birmingham, AL. His mom showed her pre-schooler a few things on the piano, but he is largely self-taught. In a life full of watershed moments, when he was 13, Chuck attended a Ray Charles concert and immediately knew how he wanted to make his way. Within two years, he was playing sessions at the venerable Muscle Shoals studio, and had already played on his first gold record. In 1970, Chuck moved to Macon, GA, home of then red-hot Capricorn Records. He played on records by The Marshall Tucker Band, Dr. John and Alex Taylor (James' older brother), and caught the attention of Capricorn’s flagship group, The Allman Brothers Band.

In 1973, ABB was coming to terms with the deaths of guitarist Duane Allman and bassist Barry Oakley in motorcycle accidents. Deciding not to try and replace the irreplaceable Sky Dog, ABB invited Chuck Leavell to join and play piano in stride with Dickey Betts on guitar and Gregg Allman on organ. The band smoothly segued to its new sound, without losing the foundation that defined and made it great. Chuck first appeared on Brothers and Sisters, and became famous for his solo on “Jesssica.”