Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Trouble staying motivated in college. Need some tips/advice.

+3 HS
PoopOnMichigan13's picture
November 4, 2016 at 10:56am
92 Comments

Im a freshman marketing major at OSU main campus this year(in Fisher College of Business), and Im not doing terrible I guess, but Im finding it very hard to motivate myself to do my work or even go to a lot of my classes, and balance free time with school work. Jus to help you understand my situation Ill give some background.

In highschool I got mostly A's with some B's, and I didnt necessarily have to work very hard, but I did put in a fair amount of effort to keep my grades up. I started highschool similarly to college, in a way, because I went from straight A's in middle school to nearly all B's my freshman year, and now in college Im looking at maybe one A and 4 B's in the first semester after having mostly A's in highschool. In high school I steadily improved my grades each year and ended with a 4.18 weighted GPA(cant remember unweighted) which was top 5% of my class. I do feel like as I get my life more under control it will be easier to motivate myself and get better grades(pretty much hat happened in highschool), but I also know classes arent getting any easier so I will have to put in even more effort/time. Im pretty smart and have never had to put in a lot of effort for school to do well, but I feel less motivation to study now than I used to.