Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

IT’S TODD RUNDGREN’S BIRTHDAY – JUNE 22, 1948 – TIMH

+10 HS
Whoa Nellie's picture
June 22, 2016 at 8:27am
35 Comments

Summing up Todd Rundgren’s career in a few pithy paragraphs is so beyond this fan’s capabilities. Todd’s life seems more like 3 or 4 careers all lived at once. Describing them, synthesizing them is daunting, impossible in the few hours given to the task. Still, Todd Rundgren is a force in rock and pop music, and homage needs to be paid.

Todd is from the Philly suburb of Upper Darby, PA.  He’s a self-taught guitar player (at 15) in the Pete Townshend mold, astonishingly good. And, terribly underrated, probably because his best known songs are piano/keyboard-driven ballads: “Hello It’s Me” “I Saw the Light” “Can We Still Be Friends” “We Gotta Get You a Woman” “A Dream Goes On Forever” “Couldn’t I Just Tell You” “Just One Victory” “Bang the Drum All Day”.

Nazz

I don’t know much about Todd’s early bands, Money and Woody’s Truck Stop. There is one album out there by the latter. Todd first came to my attention with Nazz, formed in 1967. The group was an American British Invasion band. One listen to “Open My Eyes” illustrates that description. Nazz only lasted a few years; and Todd only 2 of those. “Hello It’s Me” was their big hit, one Todd revised as an up-tempo version on a later solo album.