Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

First day on the job stories

+3 HS
creekman's picture
June 21, 2016 at 8:37am
21 Comments

I have two worthy first day on the job stories.

I started working at Geauga Lake my freshman year in high school.  The first year I was a midway sweep - basically walked around the park and swept up cigarette butts and cleaned up vomit.  My first day after my sophomore year, I was a new ride operator and was assigned to the Big Dipper, the old historic wooden roller coaster, that still sadly sits there today, alone in a dilapidated closed park.  The day before we opened the park for the summer, I showed up and learned the in's and out's of the ride, how to perform maintenance and more importantly how to stop the old coaster as it entered the train station.  We practiced a few hours with a dew employees who got to ride the roller coaster over and over.
Fast forward to the next day when we opened up to the public,  We let the first coaster out and it flawlessly made it up the hill and cruised around the track..as the ride finished and the train entered into the station, we applied the manual brakes and the train never slowed down, cruised right thru the station and started back up the hill.  The riders panicked, the workers panicked.  This went on for three cycles when we finally stopped the train on the first hill  by shutting down the chain that carried the train up.  Three of us had to climb up the hill on a very narrow steps on either side of the track, and help each rider get out of the seat and walk backwards trying to keep the riders safe as the walked down.  We spent nearly an hour walking up and down the that first hill getting all the passengers off.  Then shut the ride down for several more hours to have maintenance help us figure out what was wrong.