Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Military Reserve Advice

+5 HS
703Buckeye's picture
June 7, 2016 at 6:12pm
68 Comments

It's been a long time since I posted but I haven't stopped reading 11W. I've missed interacting with you guys and figured this would be a good place to seek advice...

I graduated with my bachelors degree back in December 2014 and let's just say that getting into my desired career field has been easier said than done. Managing a vitamin store is not what I want to do with the rest of my life, haha. For years, even before graduating, my uncle has been telling me to enter the reserves in any of the branches of the military. His main reason for pushing me to the reserves is for me to pay off my college loans in one fell swoop. I typically brushed-off his suggestion, feeling no true desire to embark on that path. Right now, I make just enough money to pay for basic living expenses and cannot pay more than the minimum on my college loans. As you know, most times, the minimum payment does not even offset interest, as it fails to do in my case. My increasing loan debt, coupled with being gifted my grandfather's Bronze Star by my step-grandmother, has seriously increased my interest and inspiration to enter the reserves.