Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Any advice for a struggling grad student?

0 HS
Dweinz's picture
August 20, 2015 at 9:56pm
66 Comments

I've been struggling with a problem for the past year or so and I was hoping I could get some advice from my 11w friends.  Sorry, this post might be a little long.

I spent 5 great years in undergrad at OSU from 2008-2013.  Ever since my freshman year, I was convinced that I wanted to study consumer decision making, conduct research and eventually be a marketing professor.  Everything I did in undergrad was set up for reaching this goal - I even spent a 5th year so that I could be in a research program that was to help prepare students for grad school.  After graduating, I was lucky to be accepted into a marketing phd program where I am now studying consumer behavior.

The first two years of the phd program (which I just officially completed this July) are set up so that I take several marketing and statistics courses while working on research/developing ideas for my dissertation, and then taking comprehensive exams.  Years 3-5 in the program are devoted to teaching and working on the dissertation.