Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. This still isn't the place to discuss politics, religion, or hot-button social issues, however.

Shooting Enthusiasts?

Ohioste's picture
April 27, 2014 at 9:50pm
90 Comments

Now that the weather is finally starting to turn for the better, I'm able to get out and shoot a little more. 

Just figured I'd see what other Buckeyes shot. 

Today I was shooting my DPMS GII Bull Barrel .308. First time out with it and it's crazy accurate for a semi-automatic rifle. 

I'm an NRA Pistol Instructor as well so always shooting random pistols but today was a rifle day. Shot around a little with a friends M1A Socom II which was nice, but I preferred my DPMS. 

Anyone else out there put some holes in some paper(or other things) recently?

InvertMyVeer's picture

I just have my trusty shotgun, locked away and loaded in case (hopefully never) I need it. I have been wanting to pick up a rifle for fun though, but the funds aren't quite there right now. I'm pretty new to the gun world, any suggestions? (Just want something to shoot for fun, would like to keep the damage under $1,000)

Football is complicated...

+6 HS
smithwessonBuckeye's picture

I would look into the Savage bolt actions. Their accutrigger is pretty nice and their price point is more than fair. There are lots of options for you, due the research. It should be more than manageable to find a rifle that meets all of your introductory needs for even under $500.

+7 HS
InvertMyVeer's picture

Savage, that's who I got my shotgun from (stevens 320). Thanks a bunch!

+5 HS
hodge's picture

I have my grandfather's old J. Stevens 59A .410 shotgun (which is now owned by Savage).  It's probably 80-90 years old, been meaning to see if it's in working order for a while now.

+5 HS
dcviper's picture

A .22LR bolt gun. Cheap to shoot, fun as all hell, and it really brings your fundamentals to the next level.

+5 HS
Scarlet_Lutefisk's picture