Sanzenbacher Honored as OSU MVP at Team Banquet

By Jason Priestas on December 5, 2010 at 4:34p
Dane did everything in 2010Dane did everything in 2010

The Buckeyes held their annual football banquet this evening and I'm happy to report no hipster pop was played.  Awards were handed out however and Dane Sanzenbacher captured the team MVP for a season in which he led the team with 52 receptions for 889 yards and 10 touchdowns.

When Dane was running around as a freshman and sophomore getting popped in games, I questioned his size and whether he should be playing for the Buckeyes, but today I'm more than happy to help myself to a large serving of crow. The kid is a baller and will be missed when he's gone.

Other award winners:

  • Archie Griffin Award (Outstanding Offensive Player): Terrelle Pryor
  • Bill Willis Award (Outstanding Defensive Player): Cameron Heyward
  • Jim Parker Award (Offensive Lineman of the Year): Justin Boren and Bryant Browning
  • Jack Stephenson Award (Defensive Lineman of the Year): Dexter Larimore
  • Randy Gradishar Award (Linebacker of the Year): Brian Rolle and Ross Homan
  • Arnie Chonko Award (Defensive Back of the Year): Chimdi Chekwa and Jermale Hines
  • Rex Kern Award (Offensive Back of the Year): Dan Herron
  • Ike Kelley Award (Special Teams Player of the Year): Devin Barclay
  • Top Freshman Offensive Player: Corey Brown
  • Top Freshman Defensive Player: Johnathan Hankins
  • John Galbreath Academic Award: Jake McQuaide
  • SAE Homecoming Game Standout (Purdue): Andrew Sweat
  • Michigan Game MVP (WW Hayes Award): Brian Rolle
  • Jim Marshall Warrior Award: Brandon Saine and Aaron Gant 

Congratulations are in order not only for all of the winners mentioned above, but for all of the members of this senior class.

In a bit of other banquet news, athletic director Gene Smith told the attendees that the Sugar Bowl was essentially a lock.  So, we'll see you again in New Orleans on the 4th.


Comments Show All Comments

JakeBuckeye's picture

Glad Dane got it.

Awards are a bit inconsistent though. Cameron Heyward got Outstanding Defensive Player but not Defensive Lineman of the Year? Dane won MVP but TP got Outstanding Offensive Player?

Jason Priestas's picture

Gotta spread some love around to the seniors.

JakeBuckeye's picture

That's what I figured. Is the Jim Marshall Warrior award the "Hey, your a senior who produced minimally this year, so here you go" award?

poguemahone's picture

Hey, let's not rip on Rich Rod too much for that. Who can forget how, in 2006, Tressel tried to fire up the team and the attendees with Beach Boys? After the all-Krispy Kreme dinner for Troy Smith and the offensive line?

Olentangy's picture

congrats to Dane. i feel like him and Boren were the only offensive players that showed each and every week while consistently picking the other guys up. great player and even better leader.

How firm thy friendship

Leanenaud's picture

Dane is the man. Gonna miss seeing those dramatic catches and consistently good play.

ToledoBuckeye's picture

"Anything easy ain't worth a damn." - Woody Hayes